Rainmeter and Circle Dock Proposal

Everything concerning Dexpot in general.
User avatar
Patrick
Developer
Posts: 7380
Joined: 04.03.2003 14:51:26

Re: Rainmeter and Circle Dock Proposal

Postby Patrick » 20.06.2010 08:06:51

I've just signed up with user name "Dexpot".

User avatar
sgtevmckay
Moderator
Posts: 192
Joined: 30.04.2010 23:17:17
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Contact:

Re: Rainmeter and Circle Dock Proposal

Postby sgtevmckay » 20.06.2010 09:42:47

We have just finished setting up a Collaboration development area for us to work in, and so that you folks can post as needed, and we can also keep notes and keep up to date on where we are at as well.

The dev team, so few others, and you folk shave access, and that is it.
You should be able to access this new area here:
http://rainmeter.net/forum/viewforum.php?f=94

If you have any issues, advise me immediately, and I will take care of it immediately.

Regards and thanks
The Sarge
Image

dragonmage
Posts: 19
Joined: 03.06.2010 05:11:54

Good News - Bad News

Postby dragonmage » 22.06.2010 18:32:57

Possible good news first. I think we can use Window Messages rather than command line if that is preferable. It does seem to be just a touch quicker on my system. We would do this by having you write the Variables to the file...

Code: Select all

[Variables]
VDMHandle=Dexpot - Main Menu
SwitchDesktop=1803 0  ;last param left off to be provided by the skin


This would be used in a skin like...

Code: Select all

[Variables]
@Include="#SETTINGSPATH#VDM.ini"
SwitchTo=!RainmeterPluginBang "MeasureVDM SendMessage #SwitchDesktop#


[MeasureVDM]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WindowMessagePlugin.dll
WindowName=#VDMHandle#

[VirtualDesktop1]
Meter=Button
ButtonImage=../TopGraphics/Button1.png
X=21r
Y=0
ButtonCommand=!Execute [#SwitchTo# 1"]


Which way do you think would be better for performance and leaving us open to any VDM? Command Line or Window Message? We should stick with one or the other so that a standard can be kept for creating skins.

Bad News: It has occurred to me that Rainmeter is not going to like Including a file with a bunch of [Sections] that are not meters or measures. I hate to put anymore work on you guys, but it would probably be better if we had one file containing all the needed variables and another that stores the Config info (desktops, position, etc.) This would allow us to Include all the variables we need, and leave all the positioning stuff alone since Rainmeter is not likely to need that info anyways. If we do need info from that file we could just parse out what we need.

What are your thoughts on this news?

User avatar
sgtevmckay
Moderator
Posts: 192
Joined: 30.04.2010 23:17:17
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Contact:

Re: Rainmeter and Circle Dock Proposal

Postby sgtevmckay » 22.06.2010 18:45:30

Here is what I see.

Command Line is a great multi-communicator set, and a lot of folks still utilize Command Line via a DOS Window.
The problem is, by today's standards Command Line is flaky, slow, and can be potentially bloated.
Windows must commit at least two operations to send the command, the core software must then execute the command.
I have utilized command Line to create a concept skin, which has been partially reviewed, and is limited by the options that Command Line has available (I will post to the Collaboration Thread in the next day or two).
Ultimately For smoothness of operation, and speed; Command Line is not the way to go.

The windows message interface is so much cleaner and faster
Image

User avatar
Patrick
Developer
Posts: 7380
Joined: 04.03.2003 14:51:26

Re: Good News - Bad News

Postby Patrick » 24.06.2010 21:07:10

:dex:

dragonmage wrote:Which way do you think would be better for performance and leaving us open to any VDM? Command Line or Window Message?

Window messages clearly offer better performance. As for compatibility, they are basically the same. Where there is a command line interface, there usually is a window message based one as well, since the commands have to be communicated to another instance of the same application somehow and window messages would be the obvious solution.

Regarding your example: Can the window message plugin use both the window title and the class name to identify the target window? Also, for other VDMs, the "SwitchDesktop" message could very well use the first message parameter to specify the number of the desktop to switch to. So instead of "SendMessage 1803 0 1" you'd have to ""SendMessage 1803 1 0" in order to switch to the first desktop. Can (and should) we somehow split this up?

It has occurred to me that Rainmeter is not going to like Including a file with a bunch of [Sections] that are not meters or measures. I hate to put anymore work on you guys, but it would probably be better if we had one file containing all the needed variables and another that stores the Config info (desktops, position, etc.)

That's okay. We haven't implemented any of the .ini stuff yet, so it is not really more work at all.

dragonmage
Posts: 19
Joined: 03.06.2010 05:11:54

Re: Rainmeter and Circle Dock Proposal

Postby dragonmage » 24.06.2010 23:08:20

Patrick wrote:Regarding your example: Can the window message plugin use both the window title and the class name to identify the target window?


I believe it is "either or" at the moment, if both would be more beneficial we could see about getting that changed.

Also, for other VDMs, the "SwitchDesktop" message could very well use the first message parameter to specify the number of the desktop to switch to. So instead of "SendMessage 1803 0 1" you'd have to ""SendMessage 1803 1 0" in order to switch to the first desktop. Can (and should) we somehow split this up?


It definitely makes it easier to create the skin if the "optional" part can be tacked on after the variable. In the second case if the message is sent without the "0" on the end would the command still fire, and assume that the missing param is 0?

User avatar
Patrick
Developer
Posts: 7380
Joined: 04.03.2003 14:51:26

Re: Rainmeter and Circle Dock Proposal

Postby Patrick » 25.06.2010 00:02:04

I've checked the source code of the window message plugin: You can specify both window title and class name. You cannot leave off any of the paramters to SendMessage.

dragonmage
Posts: 19
Joined: 03.06.2010 05:11:54

Re: Rainmeter and Circle Dock Proposal

Postby dragonmage » 25.06.2010 05:13:19

Patrick wrote:You cannot leave off any of the paramters to SendMessage.


That could be problematic then. It would require a full set of variables...

Desktop1Switch=1803 1 0
Desktop2Switch=1803 2 0
etc

User avatar
Patrick
Developer
Posts: 7380
Joined: 04.03.2003 14:51:26

Re: Rainmeter and Circle Dock Proposal

Postby Patrick » 25.06.2010 13:14:07

How about hiding away all the window message stuff in a plugin?

Code: Select all

[SwitchDesktop]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=VirtualDesktops.dll
VDManager=Dexpot
MeasureType=SwitchDesktop

You can then !Execute [!RainmeterPluginBang "SwitchDesktop 2"]. I've implemented the following MeasureTypes as well: VDMActive, DesktopCount, and CurrentDesktop.

VirtualDesktops32.zip
(10.98 KiB) Downloaded 373 times

VirtualDesktops64.zip
(11.14 KiB) Downloaded 417 times

User avatar
Patrick
Developer
Posts: 7380
Joined: 04.03.2003 14:51:26

Re: Rainmeter and Circle Dock Proposal

Postby Patrick » 29.06.2010 19:45:28

New version. :dex:

VirtualDesktops32.zip
(16.77 KiB) Downloaded 409 times

VirtualDesktops64.zip
(17.22 KiB) Downloaded 467 times

Note that "MeasureType" is now called "VDMeasureType".

Code: Select all

[MeasureCurrentDesktop]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=VirtualDesktops.dll
VDMeasureType=CurrentDesktop
VDManager=Dexpot
VDOnChange=!RainmeterSomeBang


Code: Select all

[MeasureDesktopCount]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=VirtualDesktops.dll
VDManager=Dexpot
VDMeasureType=DesktopCount
VDOnChange=!RainmeterSomeBang


Code: Select all

[MeasureVDMActive]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=VirtualDesktops.dll
VDManager=Dexpot
VDMeasureType=VDMActive
VDOnActivate=!RainmeterSomeBang
VDOnDeactivate=!RainmeterSomeOtherBang

Possible values for VDMActive are 0 and 1. CurrentDesktop, DesktopCount, VDMActive, and SwitchDesktop also work for VDManager=VirtuaWin, except for the VDOnEvent=!Bang parts.

Code: Select all

[MeasureScreenshot]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=VirtualDesktops.dll
VDManager=Dexpot
VDMeasureType=Screenshot
VDDesktop=1
VDOutputFile=#CURRENTPATH#desk1.bmp
VDWidth=640
VDHeight=480

Leaving out either VDWidth or VDHeight results in screenshots where the missing value is scaled down proportionally based on the given one. Leave out both VDWidth and VDHeight to get screenshots in full screen resolution. Currently only works for the primary monitor due to Dexpot limitations.

dragonmage
Posts: 19
Joined: 03.06.2010 05:11:54

Re: Rainmeter and Circle Dock Proposal

Postby dragonmage » 30.06.2010 08:32:42

I haven't had time to test this, and may not this week I'm preparing for a trip. Leaving tonight and coming back on Monday. Some questions. Does the Screenshot measure create a new screenshot at every update?

User avatar
Patrick
Developer
Posts: 7380
Joined: 04.03.2003 14:51:26

Re: Rainmeter and Circle Dock Proposal

Postby Patrick » 05.07.2010 19:49:42

Only if "VDRefreshOnUpdate=1" is set and only for the currently active desktop. Other screenshots are updated after switching desktops.

User avatar
Patrick
Developer
Posts: 7380
Joined: 04.03.2003 14:51:26

Re: Rainmeter and Circle Dock Proposal

Postby Patrick » 07.07.2010 00:32:32

The Raindexer is back. :dex:

Oh no, it's moved again!

Raindexer - individual Rainmeter skins per desktop




Old version:

Raindexer.exe
(96 KiB) Downloaded 1577 times

Reads #SETTINGSPATH#VDMConfig.ini. Example configuration:

Code: Select all

[Gnometer\Bars]
VDesktop=*

[Gnometer\Dexpot]
VDesktop=1,2,3,4

[Gnometer\Clock]
VDesktop=1

[Gnometer\Recycle Bin]
VDesktop=2

[Gnometer\System]
VDesktop=3,4
VD3Position=800,0
VD4Position=1000,0

User avatar
sgtevmckay
Moderator
Posts: 192
Joined: 30.04.2010 23:17:17
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Contact:

Re: Rainmeter and Circle Dock Proposal

Postby sgtevmckay » 10.07.2010 02:42:07

I'll be Damned.......It works....I have a skin on VD #2 that is not on any other VD .... Holy sweet Hanna!!!

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

More testing required....will start tomorrow (nod)
Image

User avatar
sgtevmckay
Moderator
Posts: 192
Joined: 30.04.2010 23:17:17
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Contact:

Re: Rainmeter and Circle Dock Proposal

Postby sgtevmckay » 25.11.2010 20:10:03

My apologies for a lack of movement here. I will be kicking it in the rear end after the first of the year, as I will apparently have some down time.

If at all possible can we get the new functionality of adding and subtracting Desktops add to the plugin ???

Just an update of where we are ;)
Image

User avatar
Patrick
Developer
Posts: 7380
Joined: 04.03.2003 14:51:26

Re: Rainmeter and Circle Dock Proposal

Postby Patrick » 28.11.2010 13:23:18

sgtevmckay wrote:If at all possible can we get the new functionality of adding and subtracting Desktops add to the plugin ???

Code: Select all

!RainmeterPluginBang "DexpotCommand /AddDesktop"
!RainmeterPluginBang "DexpotCommand /RemoveDesktop"

User avatar
sgtevmckay
Moderator
Posts: 192
Joined: 30.04.2010 23:17:17
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Contact:

Re: Rainmeter and Circle Dock Proposal

Postby sgtevmckay » 28.11.2010 17:46:48

Woot!!!

Thank you thank you

Image
Image

User avatar
sgtevmckay
Moderator
Posts: 192
Joined: 30.04.2010 23:17:17
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Contact:

Re: Rainmeter and Circle Dock Proposal

Postby sgtevmckay » 08.12.2010 02:52:28

The next beta of the WIP skin is available.
http://rainmeter.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=94&t=6195
Image

User avatar
sgtevmckay
Moderator
Posts: 192
Joined: 30.04.2010 23:17:17
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Contact:

Re: Rainmeter and Circle Dock Proposal

Postby sgtevmckay » 06.02.2011 22:16:20

Rainmeter 2.0 is available
Damn need caught up and get this skin done.
I am a bit stumped on showing what screen is active, but DM , the programmers and I are working on it ;)
Image

User avatar
sgtevmckay
Moderator
Posts: 192
Joined: 30.04.2010 23:17:17
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Contact:

Re: Rainmeter and Circle Dock Proposal

Postby sgtevmckay » 10.03.2011 01:52:04

Time to get serious!

Image

I am moving forward with a skin that should incorporate quite a bit.
I have scrapped all previous skins and started from scratch.
This skin is being built on the basis of an upcoming skin pack, and will ultimately become a skin theme.
so what you see is fairly much what I will initially release as a first full skin, and a Dexpot/Rainmeter press push.

The latest work is at the Rainmeter forums: http://rainmeter.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=44513#p44513

This latest skin now has VD identifier capabilities, just what Dr. Patrick ordered ;)
I am now working on making the skin some what, if not completely, dynamic. In as much; I want to be able to have the active number of Desktops shown in the area between the "-" and "+" signs.

There are some other listed issues and functionality with the original post.

Regards
The Sarge
Image


Return to “General discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests